I hate eBooks!

I hate to admit it, but I have an eBook reader. I didn’t want one, but my dad bought it for me one Christmas (or was it for a birthday?) because he knew how obsessed I am with novels. I guess I was even a little happy to get the darn thing, but truth be told that joy ended soon after. I’m not sure about you guys, but I’ve always been one who’ve stuck with the traditional paper format. I’m even a little sad that they’re not as popular now.

For me there’s just something about the physical book itself that a piece of metal and plastic can’t replicate. Maybe it’s the joy of seeing my progress through the novel by way of the pages, or maybe it’s holding the book itself while I drink a cup of hot chocolate that gets me. Either way I find that there’s a certain timelessness about the traditional format of written literature that no amount of technology can replace.

Now that’s not saying that eBooks don’t have their strengths as well – I wouldn’t be using mine at all if that were the case. For one, they’re a whole lot portable than normal books for events in which you’ll be gone for an extended period of time, after all, it’s easier to carry one eBook reader than 50 different novels. And it’s also true that many books are cheaper on the eBook format, and heck, there’s even more variety on what can be purchased!

The eBook gets rid of the need to actually go to the local bookstore or library to see if they have what I’m looking for, and even if they do have the novel I can usually get that same book for a lot less… so why do I still prefer the traditional format? Maybe it’s due to nostalgia, and it might even be illogical but I miss actually going to the bookstore. For me, my monthly visits to the Chapters (that’s the Canadian version of Barn’s and Nobles) was special.

When I was a kid I remember saving up my allowance and checking out the Fantasy section, I would browse the selection for hours, finding those true gems (although sometimes the books I did pick out were pretty bad). Because back then, I could only afford maybe 2 or 3 books at a time, and part of the thrill of reading was discovering what to read. Now with eBooks that initial spark of wonder that comes with book shopping is gone, you can simply browse the virtual bookstores to buy your virtual book.

And I think the one fact that truly gets to me about eBooks is that you can’t see the entire novel at once. What I mean is that you have to flip the book one page at a time, starting at page 1 to the end. Of course there are chapter options but it’s tedious to access that, and for me, I like to see just how far into a chapter I am. This is especially true for multiple point of view styled books. Maybe I want to see how many more pages are left for that character, or maybe I want to “cheat” and skip a particularly dull section of the book (I swear I don’t do that a lot!), but with eBooks, none of these options are available.

I’m not sure about you guys, but I hope that the whole eBook thing is just a supplement to the already popular paper book format. I’d be a truly sad person if paper books are to become like Blockbusters.

This entry was posted in My thoughts, Writing and Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I hate eBooks!

  1. Gwen says:

    I think if eBooks are going to go the way of Blockbusters, it will be a long time from now. I read a combination of eBooks and traditional, but I still prefer the feel of a book in my hands.

  2. sasha says:

    I agree with Gwen. You are not alone in preferring the physical book, a lot of people still do (myself included). The main reason I enjoy having an eBook reader is portability. I usually can’t decide how many or what books I want to travel with but with an reader I can carry as many as I want with me.

    • tismond says:

      I’ll admit that it’s one of the few things I enjoy about it, especially one long outdoor trips where bring a lot of books just isn’t feasible. On week long camping trips it’s one of my must brings, and the batter life isn’t half bad either.

  3. Olivia Wolfe says:

    I don’t like the idea of ebooks either. I want the real thing in my hands. It is one of my goals for 2013 to publish a book and I would love the real thing instead of an ebook.

    • tismond says:

      Well… the authors do get more money for selling ebooks than paper books… but other than that I don’t see the point of them either.

      • Olivia Wolfe says:

        I will publish my ebooks and work toward self publishing my own but in the meantime I collect beautiful leather bound journals that I write in so that I have something tabgible. For myself. For my children.

        ~ O

  4. Drops of Ink says:

    I think there are many of us that feel the same as you, in preferring the feel of a real book in our hands. There is just something about it that no ebook can ever replace. I hope they never do. It would truly be a shame.

  5. veraersilia says:

    I agree with you 100%. I was given Kindle Fire for Christmas (even though my grow-up children SHOULD know by now that I do not like gadgets, and IT IS a gadget), but I have not even been able to register it yet. It cannot find the home router access, etc. etc. My daughter says she will do it but she is too busy to remember. I have a prior simple kindle; I had thought that I could find stuff in foreign languages but there are only books that are old classics and nobody of that language did any editing so there are strange squiggles for accents, lines missing, messes; the copy machines were obviously readied for copying English and nothing else – I could go on and on. The problem of reading ahead or going back is extremely laborious, notes in the margins impossible etc etc. – In additions e-books from Amazon now cost only a couple of dollars less than the REAL thing. I do not know what I will do with this kindle fire if ever it can become alive… You are young, born in this age, you ought to be well acquainted with the new tech things, but for me the trouble of learning how to use it is hardly worth it.
    I already know that the foreign movies and books that I would like to see are not on offer anyway. And I could not find some titles even in American authors that interested me… sooo, I am probably too particular and also not adept at this kind of reading. When I look at the kindle titles available anyway I get the feeling that they are trying to push stuff on me that they want to sell. …. etc. etc. you said already… etc. etc. okay, I am going away. v.

    • tismond says:

      Hahaha, well said, well said etc etc etc, and I’m not as young and “hip” (is that what my generation call it?) as you might think when it comes to this stuff. I just find the millions of different menus a headache, I mean, all I want to do is read the darn thing, why do I have to select all this crap first? There’s nothing better than the simplicity of flipping a page!

  6. littverse says:

    I too have a kindle reader, and moreover, I bought it out of my own freewill despite the fact that I can never get out of the physical format of books. the main advantages have been portability, and, with a 2 year old son, not having pages torn! But yes, the real books are my lifeline, extremely close to my heart. I guess we all belong to the ‘old-school’. But the actual feel of a real book is extraordinary!

    • tismond says:

      I think not having the pages torn out is an advantage I hadn’t thought of… and hopefully don’t have to deal with for a long while! And you’re right, maybe we are the old-school people, strange how we’re blogging tho! haha

  7. Joan Miranda says:

    I’m okay with e-books but then there’s nothing compare to the real deal. The joy of leafing through the pages, the smell of paper, letting your hand feel the pages, and when you come across a good book that gives an orgasmic kind of feeling that just sucks you into its world, you know you have a winner

  8. I like/use ebooks for the reason you mentioned above – the fact that there are some books you can only get that way. Or, if you are lazy and impatient like I am 🙂 you can get a book much quicker via amazon et al as an ebook than waiting the two+ weeks for one to be delivered to your door.

    I doubt that we will reach a time when there aren’t traditional books per se – I just think we are rapidly approaching a time where most books will be published online first, then if they prove marketable, they will get picked up by traditional publishers – seems a sensible, low risk and low cost option for the publishers really.

    But I am no prophet, so who knows!

  9. beingphoebe says:

    I definitely agree! For me there really is nothing like buying a fresh new book, and the feeling of physically reading and experiencing novels seems to be lost with ebooks.

  10. I somehow believe that any person who loves books and loves reading truly can ever place ebooks at a priority higher than those of tangible books, which we can feel right in our hands. There is just something special about books and the ebooks can never replace them…never ever. Also, I love going to book stores and spending hours there…thus I do not like this whole ‘ebook’ reader thingy… Books will always be BOOKS!

  11. karyartist says:

    Real ‘Books’ will always be there and not be totally replaced. The Library in every city is not going to fade away. Now textbooks for college classes – that I wouldn’t mind seeing going the digital way. Hauling those heavy books to your classes is unbelievable.

  12. I have a Kindle, and I adore it, but I still purchase and read traditional books. If the price is cheaper, I’ll buy the book in electronic form, but otherwise I stick to physical copies. Ebooks are more convenient, but I don’t think anything beats the smell of ink or the sound of turning pages.

  13. reikiheidi says:

    …. A paper book never needs recharging!
    I love having a ‘real’ book, an ereader cannot replace the feel of it – and if you want to skip back pages or chapters to check on something – well then, it’s difficult to do on that new-faangled electron-model thingy! 🙂

  14. I too feel this way paper feels much better then a mechanical thing, but I do like audio books because sometimes it’s hard for me to read a book the words move or my head hurts. 🙂

  15. hazel995 says:

    the creepy part is that I feel that i wrote this blog. I agree with every single word you said. I even had a debate the other day with my friends about this issue, and I backed up my points with the exact things you said. Tismond, your awesome, enough said.

  16. Pingback: What will eBooks change? | The Evolution of Art

Leave a Reply

